Warriors, Sailors end play with wins

DES MOINES - Both Columbus and the Waterloo Warriors finished their seasons with victories Sunday as the 13th Iowa High School Hockey League state tournament concluded at the Des Moines Ice Arena.

The Warriors rallied to defeat Mason City, 4-3, on Tom Meyer's short-handed goal in overtime for fifth place. Then the Sailors nailed down third place for the second straight year, defeating Sioux City by a 3-2 margin. Ben MacLennan, who had an outstanding tournament for Columbus, hammered home the game-winner with 4:08 to play.

Valley-Dowling, meanwhile, blasted Dubuque 9-0 to successfully complete a 23-0 season and defend the state tournament title it won last year. Tigers Tony Dressen and James McGalliard were named comost valuable players.

Dressen scored three goals in the final and McGalliard made 24 saves to lead the romp past the Devils.

Columbus Coach Mike Brown was named Coach of the Year and the Sailors also took home the sportsmanship award.

After dropping a one-goal game to Dubuque in the semifinals, the Sailors found themselves down, 1-0, after one period Sunday. They tied it on Jussi Aalto's goal in the second period and escaped a dangerous situation early in the third by killing off nearly two minutes while skating two men short.

Columbus took the lead when Corey Simon knocked in a power play shot 4:53 into the third, but Sioux City drew even with 9:05 to play. Then MacLennan delivered the winner.

The Warriors followed a similar route past Mason City, falling behind 2-1 after the opening 15 minutes. Tracy Henn, with an assist from Meyer, tied it in the second, but the Mohawks forged back into the lead.

Mike Geraighty then got the Warriors to a 3-3 tie with a power play shot midway through the third to set up Meyer's winning goal.

Meyer and defenseman Jeff Frazee were named to the all-state team selected by coaches and league

Tournament glance Sunday's Results

SEVENTH PLACE - Urbandale 3, Ames 2

FIFTH PLACE - Waterloo Warriors 4, Mason City 3, OT THIRD PLACE - Columbus 3, Sloux

City 2 CHAMPIONSHIP - Valley-Dowling 9,

Dubuque 0

officials while Columbus had goaltender Jason Hedican, forwards Justin Smith and Jason Bloom and defender Mike Sadler on the squad.

Henn and Kirk Schoonover were honorable mention selections for the Warriors, who finished their season 10-12-1 while Jussi Aalto, Simon and Dan Bloom were chosen for Columbus, which finished 13-8-2.

Third place

Columbus 3, Sioux City 2 Columbus Sloux City. duct) 6.39; Ryberg-Col. (unsportsmanilike conduct) 6.39; Post-SC (interference) 9:24; McCormick-SC (tripping)

SECOND PERIOD - 2. Columbus, Aalto (D. Bloom,

SECOND PERIOD – 2. Columbus, Aalto (D. Bloom MacLennan) 4:25 Penalties – none. THIRD PERIOD – 3. Columbus, Simon (MacLennan) 4:33 - Siaue (TV), Keith (Brunken, Richou) 5:35. Colum-bus, MacLennan (Simon, J. Bloom) 10:42. Penalties – MacLennan-Col (interference) 1:57. Ryberg-Col. (high-sticking) 2:32. Lake-SC (trigging) 4:43, PostSC (holding)

Fifth place

Warriors 4, Mason City 3, OT

Perkins-MC (slashing) 10:40; Kirk at (roughing) 10:40; C. Peterson-MC (in-Schoonover-Wat

Interence 31 323

SECOND PERIOD - 4. Waterloo. Henn (Meyer) 4.31.5

Mass Chry, Holk (C. Peterson, Lasveg) 4.31. Fenalty - Commercian (M. Lissing) 1.92.

THIRD PERIOD - 4. Waterloo. Meyer (M. Complexity) (MC-Frind, Co City, Matt Swanson (24 save

1988-89 All-State Team

Goaltenders

James McGalliard, Valley-Dowling; Breff Callison Ames: Jason Hedican, Columbus.

Defensemen

Mike Sadler, Columbus; Ryan Goodwin, Valley-Dowi ing; Brian Bahnsen, Mason City; Joey Baxter, Dubuque, Jeff Frazee, Waterloo Warriors; Dirk Richou, Sioux City.

Forwards

Tony Dressen, Valley-Dowling; Brian Krutger, Valley-Dowling, Jon Strako, Valley-Dowling; Jason Bloom, Col-umbus; Justin Smith, Columbus; Niklas Hudin, Mason City, Mark Peterson, Mason City, T.J. Maver, Dubquer; Dan Dopita. Dubuque; Tom Meyer, Waterloo Warriors;

Honorable Mention

WARRIORS - Tracy Henn, Kirk Schoonover. COLUMBUS - Corey Simon, Dan Bloom, Jussi Aalto